WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

New Zealand Cricket Reveals T20I Squad for Pakistan Series

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against Pakistan, with allrounder Michael Bracewell appointed as captain. Bracewell’s return to the international fold follows a period of absence due to injury, during which he suffered a ruptured Achilles and a broken finger. However, his recent impressive performances, notably claiming career-best bowling figures of 8 for 41 in the Plunket Shield, have earned him the leadership role for the first time.

The squad features a mix of experienced players and promising talent, with uncapped batter Tim Robinson and fast bowler Will O’Rourke adding depth to the team. Seasoned campaigners like Adam Milne and Jimmy Neesham are also included, providing stability and experience to the side. However, notable absentees from the squad include Colin Munro, Will Young, and Tim Southee, who were unavailable for selection, while others opted out due to their commitments in the IPL.

The Blackcaps are set to embark on their tour of Pakistan, with the squad scheduled to arrive on April 14th. The series will commence with three T20Is at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi on April 18th, 20th, and 21st, before shifting to Lahore for the remaining two matches on April 25th and 27th. With Pakistan proving to be a formidable opponent in their home conditions, New Zealand will be looking to put forward a strong performance under Bracewell’s leadership and make an impact in the series.

The upcoming series against Pakistan presents an opportunity for New Zealand to assess their squad depth and further refine their T20I strategy ahead of future tournaments. With the T20 World Cup on the horizon, every match serves as valuable preparation for the Blackcaps as they aim to compete at the highest level. The selection of Bracewell as captain signals a new chapter for the team, and his leadership qualities will be put to the test as they face a challenging series against a strong Pakistani side.

New Zealand T20I squad vs Pakistan Michael Bracewell (c), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi

Back to top button